Welcome to
West Bloomfield Township Public Library's
Online Library

Friends of the Library
Home Catalog My Account Read Listen Watch eLibrary Programs Visit About Us

West Bloomfield Township Public Library's Online Library
eLibrary ~ Subject Guides




Research Pro
Search Magazines, Newspapers, Journals, Encyclopedias and eBooks:
Search In:

More Searching Options

Subject Guides

Seniors

This guide offers library and internet resources for older Americans on a wide variety of topics including health, nutrition, fitness, finance, retirement and more.

Library Resources: On the Shelves


Movie
Retirement Revolution: The New Reality
by Boyer, Brian
2009

Excuses Begone!
by Dr. Wayne W. Dyer
2010

Internet and Email for Seniors with Windows Vista
by Visual Steps
2007

Movie
How to Sell on EBay
by Michael Gorzka
2007

You might also be interested in our Bookletters page, Here's What's Cookin'.

divider

Library Resources: Magazines

Consumer Reports

Road Scholar

Reminisce

Kiplinger's Retirement Report

Where to Retire

Florida Monthly

divider

Library Resources: Electronic

Ancestry Library Edition
Ancestry Library Edition

 

A comprehensive online source of information for conducting genealogical and local history research. Includes digitized images of the US Federal Census from 1790 forward, the American Genealogical Biographical Index, passenger lists from all major U.S. ports including New York, San Francisco, Boston, Philadelphia, Baltimore and New Orleans, naturalization records ranging from 1700 to 1900, and immigration records for more than 100 countries.
In Library Use Only
Provided and paid for by the West Bloomfield Township Public Library.

 

Healia
Healia

 

Provides a search engine just for health information, filtering out the commercial sites. Relevant results with solid medical information.

 

Health & Wellness Resource Center
Health & Wellness Resource Center

 

Provides integrated access to medical, health, and wellness information. Includes the Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine, Health & Wellness Resource Center, full-text magazine articles, pamphlets from a wide variety of authoritative medical sources, and links to selected websites.

 

Health Reference Center Academic
Health Reference Center Academic

 

Presents full-text articles on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, and more.

 

Medline Plus
Medline Plus

 

Brings together authoritative information from NLM, the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and other government agencies and health-related organizations.

 

divider

Library Programs

New to computers? Check out our computer classes. See our Program Calendar for dates, times and details.

divider

Online Resources

Road Scholar
Formerly named Elderhostel, this popular budget travel group offers 8000 educational tours in the United States and abroad.

Retirement Cafe
This information portal links to over 100 interesting webistes and blogs related to retirement planning and enjoyment.

Michigan Website for Seniors
Michigan State Attorney General Mike Cox 's staff spent two years developing this website devoted exclusively to senior issues. Information on the site ranges from nursing home guides to avoiding scams.

Eons
A popular and entertaining social networking site for active seniors and baby boomers.

Road Scholar
Formerly named Elderhostel, this popular budget travel group offers 8000 educational tours in the United States and abroad.

WebMD Healthy Aging Health Center
This is one of the best all around sites for healthy aging information. You will find a wide variety of topics here.

Civic Ventures
This site gives generous information aimed at getting baby boomers more involved in their communities.

National Nursing Home Ratings
This is a national system to compare the quality of care at 16,000 U.S. nursing homes. The site will be updated four times a year. The rating measure how center perform on state inspections, giving lower scores to those needing return visits to correct deficiencies.

divider

Organizations

National Institute on Aging
The National Institute of Aging's goal is to support and disseminate information on improving the health of older Americans.

The Area Agency on Aging 1-B
The Area Agency on Aging 1-B is a non-profit organization which provides information and access to services for older adults and caregivers in a six county area encompassing Livingston, Macomb, Monroe, Oakland, St. Clair and Washtenaw. AAA 1-B maintains a database of over 2,000 organizations that provide services in areas like personal care, homemaking, meals, transportation and Medicare and Medicaid.

Museum Adventure Pass Program
The Museum Adventure Pass Program begins it's second year. Check out their website for the new museums joining the program this year and let your adventure begin by visiting the library and picking up a pass to one of the greater metro Detroit arts and cultural intitutions.

Last Updated: July 27 2010

divider

Questions? Comments? Contact Us

e-Newsletter Signup Grow up Reading Literacy Connection Tools


Library Hours:
Monday - Thursday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday - Saturday
9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Sunday
12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Main Library:
4600 Walnut Lake Road
West Bloomfield, MI 48323
Phone: 248-682-2120
TDD: 248-232-2292
Fax: 248-232-2291
Westacres Branch:
7321 Commerce Road
West Bloomfield, MI 48324
Phone: 248-363-4022
Fax: 248-363-7243
See map
© 2007 -2010 West Bloomfield Township Public Library