Welcome to
West Bloomfield Township Public Library's
Online Library

Friends of the Library
Home Catalog My Account Read Listen Watch eLibrary Programs Visit About Us

West Bloomfield Township Public Library's Online Library
eLibrary ~ Subject Guides




Research Pro
Search Magazines, Newspapers, Journals, Encyclopedias and eBooks:
Search In:

More Searching Options

Subject Guides

History

The West Bloomfield Township Public Library has all kinds of resources on ancient, medieval, and modern history.

Library Resources: On the Shelves


American History Revised: 200 startling facts that Never Made it Into the Textbooks
by Seymour Morris
2010

Movie
How the Earth Changed History
by BBC
2010

The Real History of the Cold War : a New Look at the Past
by Alan Axelrod
2009

Arafat and the dream of Palestine : an insider's account
by Bassam Abu Sharif
2009

Terror on the Seas : True Tales of Modern-Day Pirates
by Daniel Sekulich
2009

The State of Jones : The Small Southern County That Seceded From the Confederacy
by Sally Jenkins and John Stauffer
2009

Masters and Commanders : How Four Titans Won the War in the West, 1941-1945
by Andrew Roberts
2009

The indifferent stars above : the harrowing saga of a Donner Party bride
by Daniel James Brown
2009

divider

Library Resources: Magazines

History Channel Magazine

Michigan History

divider

Library Resources: Electronic

American Revolution Reference Library
American Revolution Reference Library

 

Covers the events and people of the Revolutionary War period in easy-to-understand language. Biographies and primary source materials are included in this comprehensive set.
Provided and paid for by the West Bloomfield Township Public Library.

 

Ancestry Library Edition
Ancestry Library Edition

 

A comprehensive online source of information for conducting genealogical and local history research. Includes digitized images of the US Federal Census from 1790 forward, the American Genealogical Biographical Index, passenger lists from all major U.S. ports including New York, San Francisco, Boston, Philadelphia, Baltimore and New Orleans, naturalization records ranging from 1700 to 1900, and immigration records for more than 100 countries.
In Library Use Only
Provided and paid for by the West Bloomfield Township Public Library.

 

Biography Resource Center
Biography Resource Center

 

Search full-text magazine articles for people by birth and death year, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search.
Provided and paid for by the West Bloomfield Township Public Library.

 

Dictionary of American History
Dictionary of American History

 

Includes a wide range of topics in American history, from the well studied and familiar to the obscure.
Provided and paid for by the West Bloomfield Township Public Library.

 

Encyclopedia Americana
Encyclopedia Americana

 

Full-text, Web-based version of Encyclopedia Americana. Illustrated with pictures, maps and tables.
Provided and paid for by the West Bloomfield Township Public Library.

 

HeritageQuest
HeritageQuest

 

Includes all of the images, and extensive indexing, from the 1790 - 1930 U.S. federal censuses. More than 22,000 digitized book titles, including early family histories and local histories, primary-source documents such as tax lists, city directories, probate records and more. Also includes Periodical Source Index (PERSI), Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant Application Files, the Freedman's Bank Records, and the U.S. Serial Set Private Relief Actions, Memorials and Petitions.

 

HeritageQuest
HeritageQuest

 

Includes all of the images, and extensive indexing, from the 1790 - 1930 U.S. federal censuses. More than 22,000 digitized book titles, including early family histories and local histories, primary-source documents such as tax lists, city directories, probate records and more. Also includes Periodical Source Index (PERSI), Revolutionary War Pension and Bounty Land Warrant Application Files, the Freedman's Bank Records, and the U.S. Serial Set Private Relief Actions, Memorials and Petitions.

 

Issues and Controversies in American History
Issues and Controversies in American History

 

Step back into history and view the issues of the past that have shaped our world. Enjoy in-depth explorations on issues such as religious freedom in the colonies, the Civil War Reconstruction, women's suffrage and more.
Provided and paid for by the West Bloomfield Township Public Library.

 

divider

Online Resources

Seeking Michigan
Access many never before seen historical documents in this unique website. Discover digitized documents, maps, films, images, oral traditions, death certificates, and artifacts that will give you a new appreciation of Michigan history.

Library of Congress
An outstanding site for American history and general studies. Includes primary and secondary documents, exhibits, map collections and more.

BBC: History
An excellent site for casual browsers or history buffs. Includes animations, games, movies, virtual tours and feature articles.

Exploring Ancient World Cultures
An online course supplement from Evansville University for students and teachers of ancient and medieval history. There are chapters on eight ancient and medieval cultures: Near East, India, China, Egypt, Greece, Rome, Early Islam and Medieval Europe.

Renaissance
This Annenberg/CPB site introduces the intellectual, political, technological, and economic forces that drove cultural rebirth in Europe, and in Italy in particular.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Search and read newspaper pages from 1900-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Includes New York City newspapers, The Sun and the Evening World.

divider

Organizations

Jewish Genealogical Society
A nonprofit organization founded in New York in 1977 and dedicated to collecting, preserving and disseminating knowledge about Jewish genealogy.

American Historical Association
The American Historical Association (AHA) was founded in 1884 and incorporated by Congress in 1889 to serve the broad field of history. It encompasses every historical period and geographical area

American Jewish Historical Society
Founded in 1892, the American Jewish Historical Society's holdings include 20 million documents, 50,000 books, paintings and other objects that bear witness to the remarkable contributions of the American Jewish community to life in the Americas from the 16th century to the present.

Afro-American Historical and Genealogical Society, Inc.
The Afro-American Historical and Genealogical Society, Inc. (AAHGS) strives to preserve African-ancestored family history, genealogy, and cultural diversity by teaching research techniques and disseminating information throughout the community. Our primary goals are to promote scholarly research, provide resources for historical and genealogical studies, create a network of persons with similar interests, and assist members in documenting their histories.

Last Updated: June 24 2010

divider

Questions? Comments? Contact Us

e-Newsletter Signup Grow up Reading Literacy Connection Tools


Library Hours:
Monday - Thursday
9:00 am - 9:00 pm
Friday - Saturday
9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Sunday
12:00 pm - 8:00 pm
Main Library:
4600 Walnut Lake Road
West Bloomfield, MI 48323
Phone: 248-682-2120
TDD: 248-232-2292
Fax: 248-232-2291
Westacres Branch:
7321 Commerce Road
West Bloomfield, MI 48324
Phone: 248-363-4022
Fax: 248-363-7243
See map
© 2007 -2010 West Bloomfield Township Public Library